Competition winner Cécile McLorin Salvant nominated for 2018 Jazz FM Award

2010 Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz International Vocals Competition winner Cécile McLorin Salvant has been nominated for International Jazz Artist of the Year as part of the 2018 Jazz FM Awards, digital broadcaster Jazz FM announced on Tuesday. One of the highest-profile jazz events of the year, the Awards are co-presented by Jazz FM and live event producer Serious and are intended to “promote excellence, recognise distinction and commend those that have made an exceptional contribution to genres from rising stars to established British artists and international musicians.”

Surrounded by luminaries of vocal jazz, Cécile McLorin Salvant receives her first-place award at the 2010 Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz International Vocals Competition at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. (Photo: Steve Mundinger)

Salvant also received a nomination for Album of the Year, recognizing her 2017 Mack Avenue release “Dreams and Daggers.” Since her 2010 Competition win, the vocalist has been widely acknowledged as one of the most noteworthy young jazz musicians on the global scene.

Other Institute family members recognized as part of the 2018 Awards include bassist and vocalist Stephen Bruner, better known as Thundercat, and bassist and vocalist Esperanza Spalding. Bruner, who recently released his third studio album, “Drunk,” featuring Pharrell Williams, Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins, among others, is an alumnus of the Institute’s BeBop to Hip-Hop program in the Los Angeles public schools. Spalding, a regular participant in the Institute’s International Jazz Day All-Star Global Concerts and education programs, received a nod for her 2017 release Exposure, a remarkable project that saw her write, produce and record an entire album over the course of 77 hours.

The Jazz FM Awards are scheduled to take place on April 30, 2018—International Jazz Day—at Shoreditch Town Hall in London’s East End. Public voting is now open at and will close on Monday, April 2.